

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: Tuesday, 9 July 2024

Committee: Cabinet

Date: Wednesday, 17 July 2024

Time: 2.00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

There will be some access to the meeting room for members of the press and public, but this will be limited. If you wish to attend the meeting please email democracy@shropshire.gov.uk to check that a seat will be available for you.

Please click here to view the livestream of the meeting on the date and time stated on the agenda

The recording of the event will also be made available shortly after the meeting on the Shropshire Council Youtube Channel Here

Tim Collard Assistant Director - Legal and Governance

Members of Cabinet

Lezley Picton (Leader)
Cecilia Motley
lan Nellins
Robert Macey
Gwilym Butler
Dean Carroll
Kirstie Hurst-Knight
Mark Jones
Dan Morris
Chris Schofield

Your Committee Officer is:

Ashley Kendrick Democratic Services Officer

Tel: 01743 250893

Email: ashley.kendrick@shropshire.gov.uk



AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare their disclosable pecuniary interests and other registrable or non-registrable interests in any matter being considered at the meeting as set out in Appendix B of the Members' Code of Conduct and consider if they should leave the room prior to the item being considered. Further advice can be sought from the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting.

3 Minutes (Pages 1 - 6)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 5 June 2024.

4 Public Question Time

To receive any questions from members of the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. Deadline for notification is not later than 5.00 pm on Thursday 11 July 2024.

5 Member Question Time

To receive any questions from Members of the Council. Deadline for notification is not later than 5.00 pm on Thursday 11 July 2024.

6 Scrutiny Items

7 Financial Monitoring Period 2 (Pages 7 - 20)

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler, Portfolio Holder for Finance, Corporate Resources and Communities

Lead officer - Ben Jay

8 Financial Strategy 2025/26 - 2029/30 (Pages 21 - 46)

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler, Portfolio Holder for Finance, Corporate Resources and Communities

Lead officer - Ben Jay

9 Council's New Target Operating Model (TOM) (Pages 47 - 74)

Lead Member – Councillor Lezley Picton, Leader and Portfolio Holder for Policy and Strategy, Improvement and Communications

Lead officer - Andy Begley

10 Annual Treasury Report 2023/24 (Pages 75 - 90)

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler, Portfolio Holder for Finance, Corporate Resources and Communities

Lead officer - Ben Driscoll

11 Local Government Productivity Plan (Pages 91 - 106)

Lead Member – Councillor Lezley Picton, Leader and Portfolio Holder for Policy and Strategy, Improvement and Communication

Lead officer - Andy Begley

12 Household Recycling Centres (Pages 107 - 160)

Lead Member – Councillor lan Nellins, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Climate Change, Environment and Transport

Lead Officer - Gavin Waite

13 Chargeable Garden Waste Service (Pages 161 - 216)

Lead Member – Councillor lan Nellins, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Climate Change, Environment and Transport

Lead Officer - Gavin Waite

Temporary Accommodation Provision (Pages 217 - 248)

Lead Member – Councillor Dean Carroll, Portfolio Holder for Housing and Assets

Lead officer – Laura Fisher

15 Climate Strategy and Action Plan Monitoring Report 2023 (Pages 249 - 280)

Lead Member – Councillor lan Nellins, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Climate Change, Environment and Transport.

Lead Officer – Adrian Cooper

New Model for the Future Delivery of the Council's Out of Hours Calls Triage and Shrewsbury Town Centre CCTV Monitoring (Pages 281 - 304)

Lead Member - Councillor Robert Macey, Portfolio Holder for Culture and Digital

Lead Officer - Nigel Newman

17 Shrewsbury North West Relief Road - Compulsory Purchase Order (Pages 305 - 776)

Lead Member - Councillor Dan Morris, Portfolio Holder for Highways

Lead Officer – Matt Johnson

18 Exclusion of Public and Press

To resolve that, in accordance with the provisions of schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and Paragraph 10.4 [3] of the Council's Access to Information Rules, the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items

19 Exempt Minutes (Pages 777 - 778)

To confirm the exempt minutes of the meeting held on 5 June 2024.

To Follow

20 Date of Next Meeting

To note that the next meeting is scheduled to take place on Wednesday 11 September 2024.